Intermittent Fasting

Standard

I could do with losing a few pounds.  These pounds have hung around too long, they seem to stick to my middle and I want them gone.  This is an ongoing battle as these pounds don’t seem to want to leave.  When Fred was nearly two, I realised the ‘I’ve just had a baby’ excuse was starting to wear a bit thin.  I also had the added incentive of a family wedding in Thailand and the thought (the horror, the horror) that my (winter) body would soon be exposed for all to see.  I joined Weight Watchers and lost 6lbs in the first week, then another half stone in the next few months and it is that weight I find myself now, despite my best (sporadic) efforts. I have, at least, another stone to lose.

The thing is, I like food. I like food too much sometimes.  The thought of permanently denying myself cheese, wine, cake is a depressing one. That is why the 5:2 diet seems such an appealing idea. Did you watch the Horizon TV programme spelling out the benefits of intermittent fasting? It seems too good to be true.  You fast on 2 non-consecutive days. By fast, I mean eat less than 500 calories so we’re not talking complete starvation.  On the remaining 5 days, you can eat what you like.

The Horizon programme explained that fasting lowers your IGF-1 levels.  This hormone is linked to cancer, diabetes and other illnesses and seems to be connected with ageing.  Scientists believe that if you lower your levels of IGF-1, your body starts to repair itself and fat burning is increased.  In addition, they also think this could lead to a lower risk of developing Alzheimers and Parkinsons.

Michael Mosley (who recorded the Horizon programme) writes about his experiences here.

So I’ve been doing this for a couple of weeks now. I always find weighing myself a bit problematic as my weight seems to fluctuate wildly depending on time of day, time of month and what I did the night before.  So I’m going to wait for a bit to do this. However I do feel good, in fact I feel amazing the day after I’ve fasted; alert, full of beans, not too hungry.  The fasting itself is a bit all-consuming; you can find yourself thinking about food and hunger pangs more than is strictly healthy.  But it’s do-able. So I’m going to continue with this for now and hopefully those extra pounds will finally be lost forever.

Leave a comment